Mississippi state flag
Auto insurance laws and regulations in Mississippi state
Auto insurance quotes for Mississippi residents should provide  the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum for legal compliance:

25/50/25 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

$25,000 for death or injury to one person;
$50,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
$50,000 for property damage to others

Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Mississippi or Minnesota) but live in a high limits state (like Michigan or Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Michigan, you should buy the minimum limits for Michigan.

Mississippi’s required insurance limits are relatively low, considering the the real amount of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Adding further coverage to your policy is a relatively cheap and provides you with more financial security.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Law’s and Regulations

Mississippi is a comparative negligence state. A comparative negligence legal defense is one that reduces the amount of damages that a claimant/plaintiff can recover for an injury due to negligence based on percentage of which the claimant’s/plaintiff’s own negligence contributed to cause the injury. So, if you have an accident, you and the other driver could be each at fault for 50% of each others’ damages. However, just because you have the same percentage of fault, does not mean you “cancel” out each other damages. You will have to pay for 50% of the other driver’s damages. So if you total their $50,000 car, you will be liable for ½ of the damage you caused – $25,000.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

In Mississippi, a first time offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Mississippi law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st DUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced up to 48 hours in jail. A court fine of $250 and up to $1000 may be imposed. Your license will be suspended for up to 90 days. You also may be required to complete and Alcohol Safety Education Program and attend a Victim Impact Panel. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st DUI.

2nd DUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from 5 days up to a maximum of 1 year in jail. Fines may be imposed up to $600 to $1500. Community service of 10 days to 1 year may also be ordered. Your license may be suspended for up to 2 years and the license plate on your vehicle may be confiscated for a year. When your vehicle is released, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd DUI.

Best Rated Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi

There are several ways to determine ratings and ranks for car insurance companies. Yet, as rated by market share in the state of Mississippi the top ten is this:

  1. State Farm
  2. Amica Mutual
  3. Allstate
  4. GEICO
  5. Progressive
  6. Travelers Insurance Group
  7. Nationwide
  8. Liberty Mutual
  9. Hartford
  10. Safeco Insurance