Rhode Island Flag
Guide to Auto Insurance for Rhode Island

An auto insurance quote for Rhode Island requires the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:

25/50/25 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $25,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $50,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $25,000 for property damage to others

Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Pennsylvania and Rhode Island) but live in a high limits state (like Maine or Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.

As for all states in the US, Rhode Island’s required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Significantly enhanced coverage may be actually affordable to add and can lift the level of your financial protection considerably.

Car Insurance Regulations and Laws in Rhode Island

Rhode Island is a comparative negligence state. A comparative negligence legal defense is one that reduces the amount of damages that a claimant/plaintiff can recover for an injury due to negligence based on percentage of which the claimant’s/plaintiff’s own negligence contributed to cause the injury. So, if you have an accident, you and the other driver could be each at fault for 50% of each others’ damages. However, just because you have the same percentage of fault, does not mean you “cancel” out each other damages. You will have to pay for 50% of the other driver’s damages. So if you total their $50,000 car, you will be liable for ½ of the damage you caused – $25,000.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

In Rhode Island, a first time offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Rhode Island law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you. There are three levels of impairment for determining the penalties for DWI offenses: .08 to .099% BAC, and .10 to .149% BAC, and .15% and higher. If you cause injury or property damage while impaired by alcohol, you may be subject to higher level of BAC penalties even if your BAC is not in the higher category.

1st DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from up to 1 year in jail, depending on your BAC, aggravating factors, or prior DWI or DUI convictions. A court fine of at least $300 may be imposed, increasing with higher BAC up to $500. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended for up to 18 months and you will be required to attend alcohol safety school. DWI course or alcohol/drug abuse treatment may be ordered. SR-22 or FR-44 forms (read more) are required for DWIs in Rhode Island.

2nd DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced for as low as 10 days up to 1 year depending on BAC, aggravating factors, or prior DUI convictions. Fines may be imposed of at least $400 up to $500. Your license will be suspended for up to 2 years. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 1 year after your license revocation. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DUIs in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island Auto Insurance Resources


NAIC 2009 Market Share Information
Note: List does not contain duplicates of associated or affiliated insurance companies

Further Rhode Island Reading

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Rhode Island

These are the top ten insurance companies rated by 2009 market share in the state:

  1. State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance
  2. Allstate Insurance Group
  3. Bituminous Insurance Companies
  4. Nationwide Insurance Group
  5. Geico General Insurance Company
  6. Liberty Mutual Insurance Group
  7. The Hartford Financial Services Group
  8. United Services Automobile Association (USAA)
  9. Holyoke Mutual Insurance Company
  10. OneBeacon Insurance Group