Flag of Texas
CarInsuranceCalculator.info guide to Texas

Car insurance quotes for Texas should offer the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum so you meet local state minimum limits:

30/60/25 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $30,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $60,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $25,000 for property damage to others

Typically, most car insurance policies will come with a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, there are some exceptions: if you buy a policy in a relatively low limits state (like Texas or Tennessee) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska, Maine or Wisconsin), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska. Another exception would be commuting: if you commute or otherwise drive frequently from a lower limits to a higher limits state, you probably need to adjust your policy in this regard. Note that occasional driving (holidays, visiting family or friends) is typically not considered commuting.

Please check also the notes on driving to Mexico.

As for all states, whether high limit states or not, Texas’s required insurance limits are low, considering the average cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Purchasing additional coverage is in most cases a quite cheap strategy to enjoy enhanced financial protection in the case of a real incident.

Texas Car Insurance Laws and Regulations

Texas is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident and necessary medical damages under your own Medical Benefits coverage.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

In Texas, most first time offenses of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) are treated as misdemeanor offenses. However, any DWI offense committed with a minor under age 15 in the vehicle or causing an accident resulting in great bodily harm may be treated as a felony. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Texas law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from 72 hours up to 180 days in jail, depending on your BAC, aggravating factors, or prior DWI or DUI convictions. A court fine of at least $2000 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days up to 1 year and you may be required to attend alcohol safety school. Alcohol/drug abuse treatment may also be ordered. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DWIs in Texas.

2nd DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from 30 days up to 1 year depending prior DWI or DUI convictions. Fines may be imposed of up to $4,000. Your license will be suspended from 12 months up to 24 months. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 1 year after your license revocation. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DWIs in Texas.

Texas Car Insurance Sources

Listing Source:

Texas Department of Insurance
Note: Top 40 Private Passenger Auto Insurers by Market Share – 2010

Official Texas Information

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Texas

There are several ways to measure “top insurance companies”. Please click here to find out more. Below are the top ten auto insurance companies rated by 2010 market share in the state:

  1. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
  2. Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Company
  3. Progressive County Mutual Insurance Company
  4. Government Employees Insurance Company
  5. Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance Company
  6. Old American County Mutual Fire Insurance Company
  7. Allstate Indemnity Company
  8. United Services Automobile Association
  9. Home State County Mutual Insurance Company
  10. Consumers County Mutual Insurance Company