Car insurance quotes for the state of Alaska have to comply with the following legal requirements:
Alaska requires the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:
50/100/25 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:
- $50,000 for death or injury to one person;
- $100,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
- $25,000 for property damage to others
Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like California) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.
Alaska’s required insurance limits, especially for personal injury damages, are among the higher of the minimum requirements for any state. However, when purchasing car insurance, consider the cost of damages likely to occur in an accident. Repairs and medical costs may be more expensive in Alaska than elsewhere. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage.
Alaska requires that you be offered uninsured/underinsured coverage. Such coverage may not be lower than 50/100/25.
Car Insurance Law in Alaska
Alaska is a pure comparative negligence state. A comparative negligence legal defense is one that reduces the amount of damages that a claimant/plaintiff can recover for an injury due to negligence based on percentage of which the claimant’s/plaintiff’s own negligence contributed to cause the injury. So, if you have an accident, you and the other driver could be each at fault for 50% of each others’ damages. However, just because you have the same percentage of fault, does not mean you “cancel” out each other damages. You will have to pay for 50% of the other driver’s damages. So if you total their $50,000 car, you will be liable for ½ of the damage you caused – $25,000.
Driving Under the Influence
In Alaska, the penalties for a DUI conviction depend on the type of DUI that was charged, and on your criminal record. If it is your first DUI offense, if you have a blood alcohol content of .08 or more, you will have a minimum sentence of 3 days. Your license will be suspended for 90 days. An ignition interlock device may be required for 12 months. A fine of about $1500.00 will be imposed but you may also have to pay for costs of incarceration, the ignition interlock device, and counseling.
In Alaska, the penalties for a second DUI conviction depend on the type of DUI that was charged, and on your criminal record. If it is your second DUI offense, you will have a minimum sentence of 20 days. Your license will be suspended for 1 year. An ignition interlock device will be required for 12 months. A fine of about $3000.00 will be imposed plus the costs of incarceration, the ignition interlock device, and mandatory drug or alcohol counseling.
Generally, a second DUI offense in Alaska is classified as a misdemeanor but a person is guilty of a felony DUI after two or more convictions within 10 years of the current offense. Felony DUI penalties will include fines of at least $10,000 and at least 120 days in jail. Your license may be permanently revoked, although license reinstatement may be sought 10 years after revocation if no new criminal offenses occurred and if you provide proof of financial responsibility.
For DUI and convictions based on refusal of blood alcohol testing, a SR-22 is required for five (5) years from the ending date on a first offense, ten (10) years from the ending date on a second offense, and twenty (20) years from the ending date on a third offense.
The SR22 must be carried for the life of the driver if there is a 4th DUI or refusal of blood alcohol testing or an unsatisfied judgment for driving without a license.
Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Alaska
These are the top ten insurance companies rated by market share in the state:
- State Farm Mutual Insurance
- Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance Company
- United Service Automobile Association
- Geico General Insurance Company
- Hartford Insurance Company of the Midwest
- Government Employees Insurance Company
- Progressive Specialty Insurance Company
- State Farm Fire & Casualty Company
- Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois
- Country Mutual Insurance Company
Data from 2010 Annual Report
Once you’ve decided what you need, just give it a shot! CarInsuranceCalculator.info will get you quotes from major car insurance companies, customized to your needs. You can start saving now and enter your information to get instant car insurance quotes!
Disclaimer: Information Current as of 2011