A car insurance quote for Maryland should meet the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:
30/60/15 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:
- $30,000 for death or injury to one person;
- $60,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
- $15,000 for property damage to others
- Uninsured Motorist coverage of at least the same amount as the minimum liability coverage, 30/60/15. Maryland also requires Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $2,500, but PIP may be waived or declined in writing.
Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Maryland) but live in a high limits state (like Maine), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Maine, you should buy the minimum limits for Maine, not Maryland.
Maryland’s required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage.
Auto Insurance Requirements for the State of Maryland
Maryland is a contributory negligence state. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff cannot recover for an injury if they are any part at fault for the damages, even if only 1% at fault. For example, if you are a pedestrian crossing a street outside the crosswalk and a speeding driver hits you, you may be denied any compensation. Maryland is one of the few states that follow the contributory negligence standard.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Impaired (DWI)
In Maryland, a first time offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Maine law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. A Driving While Impaired (DWI) in Maryland is driving with a BAC of .04-.07%. It is a lesser offense that a DUI. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.
If convicted, you may be sentenced up to a maximum of 1 year in jail, unless you were transporting a minor at the time, which increases the maximum jail time to 2 years. Fines may be imposed up to $2000.00 plus court fees. Your license will be suspended for at least 6 months. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st DUI.
If convicted, you may be sentenced up to a maximum of 2 years in jail, unless you were transporting a minor at the time, which increases the maximum jail time to 3 years. Fines may be imposed up to $3000.00 plus court fees. Your license will be suspended for at least 12 months and if you want a restricted driving license, you must attend an approved drug and alcohol counseling program and install an ignition interlock device will be required if you can obtain a restricted license. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd DUI.
Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Maryland
These are the top ten insurance companies as rated by their market share in the state:
- State Farm Insurance Group
- Geico Insurance Group
- Allstate Group
- Nationwide Insurance Group
- Erie Insurance Group
- Progressive Insurance Group
- United Services Automobile Association (USAA)
- Liberty Mutual Group
- Travelers Group