Car insurance quotes for Nevada should provide you with the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:
15/30/10 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of
- $15,000 for death or injury to one person;
- $30,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
- $10,000 for property damage to others.
Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Nevada or New Jersey) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.
As for all states, even the so-called “high-limit states”, Nevada’s required insurance limits are low, compared to the real cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Additional coverage is actually quite cheap to purchase and can provide you with a much stronger financial security belt.
Nevada Car Insurance Law and Requirements
Nevada is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident. If the damage caused is less than 51%, the claimant can only recover their damages as reduced by their percentage of fault.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
In Nevada, a first time offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Nevada law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.
If convicted, you may be sentenced from 2 days to up to 6 months in jail. A court fine of $400 to $1000 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended or restricted for 90 days. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device. You may also be required to take attend DUI school or receive alcohol abuse treatment. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st DUI.
If convicted, you may be sentenced from 10 days up to a maximum of 6 months in jail. Fines may be imposed from $750 up to $1000. Your license may be suspended for 1 year. You vehicle may be subject to vehicle registration suspension (your license plates are confiscated). You may also be required to take attend a 1 year supervised DUI school or receive alcohol abuse treatment. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd DUI.
Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Nevada
These are the top ten insurance companies rated by market share in the state:
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
- Farmers Insurance Exchange
- Western United Insurance Company
- American Family Mutual Insurance Company
- Allstate Insurance Group
- Progressive Insurance Group
- USAA (United Services Automobile Association
- Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company
- GEICO Insurance Group
- Mid-Century Insurance Company