A car insurance quote for Ohio should provide you with the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:
12.5/25/7.5 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:
- $12,500 for death or injury to one person;
- $25,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
- $7,500 for property damage to others
Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Ohio or North Dakota) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska, Maine or Wisconsin), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Wisconsin, you should buy the minimum limits for Wisconsin.
As in most states the insurance limits required by law are low, Ohio is a typical example. If you start considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident, they are too low. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Enhancing your policy with additional coverage increases premiums only to a very little degree, but can offer you a much greater financial protection.
Auto Insurance Regulations and Law’s in Ohio
Ohio is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.
Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated (OVI)
In Ohio, a first time offense of Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated (OVI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Ohio law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.
If convicted, you may be sentenced from 3 days up to 6 months in jail, depending on whether aggravating factors are present (over .17 BAC, minor in vehicle at time of arrest, etc.). A court fine of up to $2000 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended for at least 6 months up to 1 year. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st OVI.
If convicted, you may be sentenced from 10 days up to 6 months in jail, depending on whether aggravating factors are present (over .17 BAC, minor in vehicle at time of arrest, etc.). Fines may be imposed up to $1625. Your license will be suspended for 1 year up to 5 years. Your vehicle will be immobilized during the suspension period. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device. You will also be required to complete a Driver Intervention Program. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd OVI.
Best Rated Car Insurance Companies in Ohio
In Ohio, the most used car insurance companies as rated by 2010 market share data are:
- State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Company
- Progressive Insurance Group
- Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company
- Grange Mutual Casualty Company
- Liberty Mutual
- Westfield Group
- Erie Insurance Company
- American Family Insurance Company