Flag of Connecticut
Connecticut car insurance guide

Car insurance quotes for the state of Connecticut should provide you with the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:

20/40/10 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $20,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $40,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $10,000 for property damage to others

Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through.  However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Connecticut or Colorado) but live in a high limits state like Alaska, insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.

Connecticut’s required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident.  If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage.

Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements

Connecticut is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule.  This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

In Connecticut, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor offense.  If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Connecticut law presumes you are driving under the influence.  If you are younger than 21, you are presumed driving under the influence at .02% BAC.

1st DUI

You will automatically have your license suspended for 1 year.  However, you may be eligible for a restricted license after 90 days of license suspension. You will have 48 hours mandatory jail time with an overall maximum sentence of 6 months.  Jail time can be reduced or suspended by at least 100 hours of community service and probation and the completions of a substance abuse program. Fines can vary from $500.00 to $1000.00.  A SR-22 is required for restoration of license after suspension.

2nd DUI

Your license will automatically be suspended for 1 year (if under 21, license suspension will be for 3 years or until you are 21.)  You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device for 2 years after reinstatement of your license.  You will be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 120 days up to 2 years of jail time.  Probation and 100 hours of mandatory community service is required.  Fines from $1000.00 to $4000.00 will be imposed. Your car will be impounded for 48 hours.  A SR-22 is required for restoration of license after suspension.

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut

These are the top ten car insurance groups ranked by market share in the state:

  1. Berkshire Hathaway Group  (Geico)
  2. Allstate Insurance Group (Allstate)
  3. Liberty Mutual Group (Liberty Mutual, Safco, Wausau)
  4. Progressive Group (Progressive)
  5. Travelers Group (Travelers, St. Paul, Travelco)
  6. Nationwide Corp (Nationwide, Titan, Scottsdale)
  7. Hartford Fire & Casualty Group (Hartford, Sentinel)
  8. State Farm Group (State Farm)
  9. Metropolitan Group (Metropolitan, Economy Preferred)
  10. Amica Mutual Group (Amica Mutual)