Massachusetts state flag
Guide to auto insurance requirements and regulations in Massachusetts

All auto insurance quotes for Massachusetts have to comply legally with the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:

  • 20/40/5– This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:
  • $20,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $40,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $5,000 for property damage to others;


Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Maryland) but live in a high limits state (like Maine), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.

Massachusetts’ required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. We strongly recommend to chose an amount which will cover your real needs in the case of an incident.

Car Insurance Law’s and Regulations in Massachusetts

Massachusetts is no-fault state/a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.

Operating Under the Influence (OUI)

In Massachusetts, a first time offense of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Massachusetts law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. It is a lesser offense that an OUI. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st OUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced up to a maximum of 2.5 years in jail. You may be able to reduce your sentence by participating in a drug/alcohol education program. Fines may be imposed from $500.00 up to $5000.00 plus court fees. Your license will be suspended for at least 1 year. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st OUI.

2nd OUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced for a minimum of 60 days up to a maximum of 2.5 years in jail. Fines may be imposed from $600.00 up to $10,000.00 plus court fees. Your license will be suspended for 2 years and if you want a restricted driving license (eligible after 1 year of suspension), you must attend an approved drug and alcohol counseling program and may be required to install an ignition interlock device to obtain a restricted license. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd OUI.

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts

These are the top ten insurance companies rated by market share in the state of Massachusetts:

  1. Commerce Group
  2. Safety Group
  3. Liberty Mutual Group
  4. Arbella Insurance Group
  5. Plymouth Rock Assurance Corporation
  6. Travelers Group
  7. Metropolitan Group
  8. Hanover Insurance Group Allmerica Financial
  9. Amica Mutual Group
  10. Progressive Group