Flag of Missouri
Auto insurance guide to Missouri

Any auto insurance quote for residents of Missouri requires the following coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum:

25/50/10– This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $25,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $50,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $10,000 for property damage to others.

Drivers must also obtain uninsured/underinsured coverage of 25/50 – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Missouri or Mississippi) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.

Missouri’s required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage.

Car Insurance Laws and Regulations for Missouri

Missouri is a comparative negligence state. A comparative negligence legal defense is one that reduces the amount of damages that a claimant/plaintiff can recover for an injury due to negligence based on percentage of which the claimant’s/plaintiff’s own negligence contributed to cause the injury. So, if you have an accident, you and the other driver could be each at fault for 50% of each others’ damages. However, just because you have the same percentage of fault, does not mean you “cancel” out each other damages. You will have to pay for 50% of the other driver’s damages. So if you total their $50,000 car, you will be liable for ½ of the damage you caused – $25,000.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

In Missouri, a first time offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Missouri law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced up to 6 months in jail. A court fine of $500 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended or restricted for up to 90 days. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st DWI.

2nd DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced up to a maximum of 1 year in jail. Fines may be imposed up to $1000. Your license may be suspended from 1 to up to 5 years. If you are eligible for a restricted driver’s license, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd DWI.

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Missouri

Here is the list for the ten best rated insurance companies rated by market share in the state:

  1. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
  2. American Family Mutual Insurance Company
  3. Shelter Mutual Insurance Company
  4. Farmers Insurance Company Inc
  5. Safeco Insurance Company Of Illinois
  6. Automobile Club Inter-insurance Exchange
  7. Progressive Preferred Insurance Company
  8. Farm Bureau Town & Country Ins Company of MO
  9. GEICO General Ins Company
  10. Progressive Direct Insurance Company