Car insurance quotes for drivers living in Vermont should provide at least the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum in order to meet the state’s minimum limits:
25/50/10 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:
- $25,000 for death or injury to one person;
- $50,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
- $10,000 for property damage to others
Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like Vermont or Utah) but live in a high limits state (like Maine), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Maine, you should buy the minimum limits for Maine. Likewise, if you use to commute across states, you might need to upgrade your policy so that all relevant state limits are covered. Occasional visits are typically not considered commuting. If in doubt, consult with your agent.
Please consider, that Vermont’s required insurance limits are low, considering the cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. This holds true for virtually all US states. You may discover that purchasing additional coverage is in most cases quite cheap and can enhance your financial protection in the case of an incident considerably.
Vermont Auto Insurance Requirements and Laws
Vermont is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
In Vermont, a first time offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is treated as a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Vermont law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.
If convicted, you may be sentenced up to 2 years in jail. A court fine of at least $750 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended for 90 days. You will be required to attend alcohol and driver’s education program, treatment assessment and therapy program. SR-22 or FR-44 forms (read more on these forms) are required for DUIs in Vermont.
If convicted, you may be sentenced for up to 2 years in jail. Fines may be imposed of up to $1,500. Your license will be suspended for 18 months. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 3 year after your license revocation. You will be required to attend alcohol and driver’s education program, treatment assessment, and therapy program. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DUIs in Vermont.
Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Vermont
Car insurance carriers can be ranked by several factors and methods. These are the top ten auto insurance companies as rated by 2008 market share in the state:
- Progressive Group
- WR Berkley Group
- Liberty Mutual Group
- Nationwide Group
- Zurich Financial Group
- Travelers Group
- Cincinnati Insurance Group
- American International Group
- MMG Insurance Group
- Main Street America Group