Flag of Utah
CarInsuranceCalculator.info's Guide to car insurance in Utah

Car insurance quotes for Utah should meet at least the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility at a minimum in order to drive legally:

25/65/15 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $25,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $65,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $15,000 for property damage to others

Please note that most car insurance policies come a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. Means: you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy for some reason a policy in a low limits state (like Utah or Texas) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska, Maine or Wisconsin are typical examples here), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska. Another case is commuting. If you commute to higher limit states you probably need to adjust your policy to meet the minimum requirements of all states you regularly visit. Note that occasional visits are usually not considered commuting. Consult with your agent if in doubt.

Anyhow, Utah’s required insurance limits are low, considering the real average cost of repair and damages likely to occur in an accident. State limits in the US may let you drive legally, but may not be sufficient to protect you from all financial consequences of an accident: If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. Additional coverage is actually for most drivers quite cheap to purchase and can enhance your financial protection considerably.

Car Insurance Laws and Requirements in Utah

Utah is a no-fault/modified comparative fault state with a 50% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 50%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 50% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

In Utah, a first time offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is treated as a misdemeanor offense. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, Utah law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st DUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from 48 hours minimum up to 1 year in jail. A court fine of at least $700 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended for 180 days and you may be required to attend alcohol safety school. Alcohol/drug abuse treatment may also be ordered. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DUIs in Utah (check this for details).

2nd DUI

If convicted, you may be sentenced for a minimum of 240 hours in jail. Fines may be imposed of up to $800. Your license will be suspended for 18 months. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 3 year after your license revocation. SR-22 or FR-44 forms are required for DUIs in Utah.

Utah Car Insurance Information

Source for Top List:

NAIC 2010 Market Share Information
Note: List does not contain duplicates of associated or affiliated insurance companies

Official Utah Information

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in Utah

Note that there are several ways to rank auto insurance carriers. The following top ten auto insurance companies have been rated by 2010 market share in the state:

  1. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins Co
  2. Farmers Ins Exchange
  3. American Family Mutual Ins Co
  4. Allstate Ins Co
  5. Bear River Mutual Ins Co (a)
  6. Progressive Classic Ins Co
  7. GEICO General Ins Co
  8. Mid-Century Ins Co
  9. Farm Bureau Prop & Cas Ins Co
  10. Bristol West Ins Co