Flag of New Hampshire
Auto insurance regulations for New Hampshire

A car insurance quote for New Hampshire requires at least the following insurance coverage or financial responsibility:

25/50/25 – This is shorthand for the liability policy limits required which means you need a minimum coverage of:

  • $25,000 for death or injury to one person;
  • $50,000 for death or injury to two or more people; and
  • $25,000 for property damage to others

In addition, you must purchase uninsured/underinsured coverage in the same amount as your liability coverage. You must also purchase at least $1000 of coverage for Medical Payments, a no-fault coverage for payment of medical expenses as a result of an auto accident.

Nearly all car insurance policies have a provision that will adjust your coverage from the minimums required in your state to the minimum insurance or proof of financial responsibility in another U.S. state. So you do not need to get a new insurance policy for each state you are driving through. However, if you buy a policy in a low limits state (like New Hampshire, New Jersey or Nevada) but live in a high limits state (like Alaska), insurers will only write a policy where your car is principally garaged. So if your home is in Alaska, you should buy the minimum limits for Alaska.

As typical for nearly all states in America, New Hamphshire’s legal minimum insurance limits are much lower than the cost of repair and damages you can reasonably expect to occur in an accident. If you are in a serious collision and the damages you caused are greater than the coverage limits you purchased, you may be personally liable to pay for those damages that exceed your insurance coverage. The same applies if you are not at fault, but have to deal with an under-insured or even uninsured motorist. Additional coverage and protection is relatively affordable to add to your policy and can provide you with much stronger security belt than the typical state limits.

Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a modified comparative fault state with a 51% rule. This is a legal defense that means that a plaintiff can recover for an injury, reducing the amount that the plaintiff can recover based on the percentage of which the plaintiff is at fault if it is determined that his or her fault in causing the injury is less than 51%. If the plaintiff’s fault level reaches 51% or more, he or she cannot recover any damages resulting from the accident. If the damage caused is less than 51%, the claimant can only recover their damages as reduced by their percentage of fault.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

In New Hampshire, a first time offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a not cpnsidered a misdemeanor offense, unless aggravating factors are present. If you are 21 years or older, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08% or higher while driving, New Hampshire law presumes you are driving while intoxicated. If you are under 21, a lower BAC may apply to you.

1st DWI

If convicted, you may be not receive jail time, unless aggravating factors (BAC .16 or more, DWI with minor in vehicle, etc.) are present. A court fine of $350 to $2400 may be imposed. You will also be responsible for other court fees. Your license will be suspended or restricted for 90 up to 2 years. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device. You may also be required to take attend DUI school or receive alcohol abuse treatment. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 1st DUI.

2nd DWI

If convicted, you may be sentenced from 3 days up to 1 year in jail. Fines may be imposed from $500 up to $2400. Your license may be suspended for 2 years. You will also be required to attend an inpatient 7 day alcohol assessment/treatment program. SR-22 or FR-44 forms will be required for a 2nd DUI. A second DWI is a misdemeanor, unless you are in an accident while DWI, causing bodily injury – a felony crime. Greater jail and fines may apply if aggravating factors are present.

New Hampshire Links

Listing Source:

NAIC 2009 Market Share Information
List does not contain duplicates of associated or affiliated insurance companies

Further Resources

Top Ten Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire

According NAIC market share information (2009) the top ten insurance companies as rated by market share in New Hampshire are the following:

  1. State Farm
  2. Allstate
  3. Geico
  4. Progressive
  5. Nationwide
  6. Liberty Mutual
  7. Travelers
  8. The Hartford
  9. American Automobile Association
  10. MetLife